The Sheriff is the highest and only Law Enforcement Official elected by the people.


 Sheriff Gary Schaffer has served the Cape May County Public Safety Community for over 42 years. During this time he has trained and educated almost all the law enforcement officers in Cape May County. He has an unprecedented working relationship with the Cape May County Chiefs of Police.

 Sheriff Schaffer served Ocean City Police for over 25 years. He began his career working as an undercover police officer assigned to the Cape May County Prosecutor’s Narcotic Strike Force and retired as a Detective Lieutenant. He commanded the Detective Bureau, Juvenile Bureau, SWAT Team, was lead internal affairs investigator and Public Information Officer. He has his Bachelor of Arts Degree in Criminal Justice from Stockton State College and additional 15 semester credit hours from the University of Virginia in criminal justice. He has attended over 70 police training schools during his career; graduated the New Jersey Chiefs of Police West Point Command and Leadership Program, the National Sheriff’s Institute 98th Session and the FBI National Academy 192nd session. He was past President of Ocean City PBA Local # 61 for over 5 years and a gold life member of that organization.

 Sheriff Schaffer was appointed as Director of the Cape May County Public Safety Training Center in 1998 responsible for organizing and supervising both basic and advanced, police, fire, EMS, 911 Dispatch Training. Director Schaffer is a New Jersey Police Training Commission instructor and firearms range master. Sheriff Schaffer is a member of the New Jersey Police Training Commission that set the standards for police training in New Jersey Police Training and currently sits as their Chairman of the Appeals and Legislative Committee. He served five terms as President of the New Jersey Police Academy Director’s Association.

 Sheriff Schaffer was named Ocean City Police Officer of the year in 1979 and again in 1997. He is the only officer to receive this award twice. He received the 2001 American Criminal Justice Gene Carte` Memorial Award for outstanding life time contributions to the field of criminal justice, from the American Criminal Justice Association. Sheriff Schaffer is also a member of the Board of Trustees at Shore Memorial Hospital.

 He is involved in community and church programs, has served on his parish council, is a lector and Eucharistic minister and has coached youth soccer. He resides in Upper Township with his wife Debbie and they have four children, two of whom are police officers; and three grandchildren.

Contact the Sheriff at

Sheriff Gary G. Schaffer

Term Expires: December 31, 2017

  Sheriffs Of Cape May County

1692 --Timothy Brandereth

1695--John Townsend

1697--Ezekiel Eldredge

1700--Edmund Howell

1701--Caesar Hoskins

1704--John Taylor

1704--John Taylor

1704--John Taylor

1711--Humphrey Hughes

1711--John Townsend

1714--Richard Downs

1715--Robert Townsend

1721--Richard Downs

1722--Henry Young

1723--Richard Downs

1740--Constant Hughes

1744--Jacob Hughes

1748--Jeremiah Hand

1751--Thomas Smith

1754--John Shaw

1757--Jeremiah Hand

1760--Ebenezer Johnson

1762--Henry Hand

1765--Sylvanus Townsend

1768--Daniel Hand

1771--Eli Eldredge

1772--Jonathan Jenkins

1774--Henry Y. Townsend

1777--Isaiah Stites

1780--Richard Townsend

1781--Nathaniel Hand

1782--Daniel Garretson

1783--Jonathan Hildreth

1784--Benjamin Taylor

1787--Philip Hand

1788--Henry Stites

1791--Eleazer Hand

1796--Jacob Godfrey

1791--Jeremiah Hand

1798--Jonathan Leaming

1801--Thomas H. Hughes

1804--Joseph Hildreth

1807--Cresse Townsend

1808--Jacob Hughes

1809--Joshua Swain

1812--Aaron Leaming

1815--Spicer Hughes

1818--David Townsend

1821--Spicer Hughes

1824--Swain Townsend

1827--Thomas P. Hughes

1830--Richard Thompson

1833--Ludlam Pierson

1834--Joshua Swain, Jr.

1835--Ludlam Pierson

1835--Samuel Matthews

1838--Samuel Springer

1841--Thomas Vangilder

1844--Enoch Edmunds

1847--Peter Souder

1850--Thomas Hewitt, Jr.

1853--Elva Corson

1856--William S. Hooper

1859--Richard D. Edmunds

1862--Aaron Miller

1865--John Wilson

1868--Anthony Steelman

1871--Nelson T. Eldredge

1874--Albert Adams

1878--William H. Benezet

1881--Remington Corson

1884--William H. Benezet

1886--Stillwell H.Townsend

1886--James Shoemaker, Jr.

1889--Charles E. Nichols

1892--Robert E. Hand

1895--Andrew J. Tomlin

1898--John W. Reeves

1901--Samuel E. Ewing

1904--William H. Bright

1907--Robert R. Corson

1910--Frederick J. Melvin

1913--Coleman T. Corson

1916--Robert S. Miller

1919--Mead Tomlin

1922--George A. Redding

1925--James T. Hoffman

1928--Forrest Maylan Rich

1931--William B. Powell

1934--Paul M. Scull

1937--William B. Powell

1940--F. Mulford Stevens

1943--Norman S. Taylor

1946--Egbert J. Wood

1949--Norman S. Taylor

1960--A. Huppert Heil

1969--Beech N. Fox

1985--James T. Plousis

2002--Raymond D. Lewis

2002-- John F. Callinan

2009--Gary G. Schaffer

Revised: 09/16/2015